Skip to content

Read the letter artist John Singer Sargent wrote in response to a dissatisfied customer

January 19, 2012

This is the full response letter American artist John Singer Sargent wrote to some unhappy customer’s husband who had asked to repaint his wife in a softer, more appealing way (I discuss this letter and one of Sargent’s painting in my previous post). I don’t know which particular painting this is directed toward, but it’s believed that Sargent wrote many of these letters because of his affinity for realism, which was sometimes a little harsh.

Dear —–,

I have received your kind letter and if I thought an interview was of the slightest use and would not lead to a further discussion I would of course welcome it.

But the point on which we differ is one with which a long experience if portrait painting has made me perfectly familiar — I have very often been reproached with giving a hard expression to ladies portraits, especially when I have retained some look if intelligence in the face, besides amiability, as I consider myself forced to do in this case.

The expression of         ‘s face in the portrait is kind and indulgent, with over and above this, a hint at a sense of humour. If I take this out, it will become as soft as anyone could desire. But as a matter of fact nothing will make me, much as I regret not meeting your wishes.

Yours truly,
John S. Sargent
(Charteris, P160)

A link to the letter online: http://jssgallery.org/Paintings/Lady_Agnew.htm

4 Comments
  1. This is so interesting! It is interesting to see Sargent’s very own description of the gaze he captured in one of his paintings. It is amazing what a gaze can tell you about a personality. It makes me irritated that many of the men during this time period didn’t want to see a woman’s personality. This letter shows that Sargent felt differently and I have gained so much respect for him after reading this letter. It is so awesome that you have included this in your blog!

    • Glad you enjoyed it! I also found it very interesting to read first hand what Sargent had to say about his paintings. You really get a feel for his passion! It’s one thing to be told he was a realist and another to capture it yourself through his writing.. and I completely agree, knowing that he was adamant about drawing women as they are to capture their inner beauty is a very admirable quality in him!

  2. I find it very interesting that someone would be upset with John Singer Sargent’s work. Especially because he found the beauty in women and gave them power and a voice through a portrait that otherwise they may never have. However, I would expect more apology letters from Thomas Eakins. Even though he painted a woman, he didn’t necessarily paint them beautifully. He painted muscle structure, and everything that is defined in a face, but he could have created it more beautifully especially in a portrait of a woman.

    • The next painting I discussed was Eakins’ Concert Singer. As you mentioned, he paints her naturally, but in a bad way. Actually, there was a lot of tension between Eakins and the woman in that portrait (Weda Cook). Can’t you almost sense his unappreciation toward women through the paintings he draws of them? His poor attitude and lack of respect was actually one of the reasons why there was so much friction between that woman and him.

Leave a comment